Global Victorian Studies Today
Virtual Panel
Sponsored by NAVSA’s Empire and Colonialism Caucus

March 27, 2024
3 pm PST
5 pm CST
6 pm EST
11pm GMT
10am AEDT (3/28)

Priti Joshi, University of Puget Sound
Moderator 

Bassam Sidiki, University of Texas at Austin
“Victorian Sindh: Diaspora, Empire, and Pakistan Studies”

Zarena Aslami, Michigan State University 
“Marginal Sovereignty: Victorian Afghanistan and the Limits of Empire”

Preeshita Biswas, Texas Christian University
“Vying Empires under a New Woman’s Gaze: Kimura Akebono’s Fujo no Kagami and Imperial Feminism in Meiji Japan”

Cherrie Kwok, University of Virginia
“Decadent Haiti: The Haitian Revolution and the Transimperial Nineteenth Century”

Yangjung Lee, Seattle University
“Emancipation and the British Caribbean”

css.php Skip to content