Theater Virtual Panel
“Cecily Hamilton’s A Pageant of Great Women
sponsored by the Theater Caucus

April 19, 2024

4pm EST
9pm GMT
7am AEST (4/20)

Description

Watch like an Edwardian!

In 1909, when Cicely Hamilton’s The Pageant of Great Women was first performed at London’s Scala Theatre, the suffrage campaign was developing strong ties to the theatrical community. Bringing together experts on Suffrage Drama from all career stages, this Theatre Caucus sponsored panel will think about the impact of Hamilton’s drama, and consider how the collective campaigning of the suffrage movement can be accessed in the twenty-first century through digital performance. If you’re not familiar with the Pageant (or if you are and would like to experience it fully!), the Caucus’s crowd-sourced digital performance will be available through COVE in advance of the panel.

Speakers

Catherine Quirk (Edge Hill U)
Chair

Anna Andes (Susquehanna U)

Katharine Cockin (U of Essex)

Renata Kobetts Miller (CUNY)

Elise Robinson (U of Georgia)

css.php Skip to content